Skip links and keyboard navigation

The Local Government Remuneration Commission is established under the Local Government Act 2009.

The Commission is an independent body, made up of a Chair and Casual Commissioners, appointed by the Governor in Council.

The Department of Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs provides administrative and secretariat assistance to the Commission to enable it to effectively perform its responsibilities.


Under the Act, the functions of the Commission are:

  1. to establish the categories of local governments
  2. to decide the category to which each local government belongs
  3. to decide the maximum amount of remuneration payable to the councillors in each of the categories; and
  4. another function related to the remuneration of councillors directed, in writing, by the Minister.

The categories are reviewed every four years, while the remuneration is reviewed annually. 


The current remuneration categories for Queensland councils are published in the (former) Local Government Remuneration and Discipline Tribunal Report 2018 (PDF, 3.0 MB).


For all enquiries regarding the Commission, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..