Close alert

As a result of the 2020 Queensland Government elections, this department has undergone a machinery of government. Read more about the new Ministerial portfolios and departmental Directors-General.

Skip to content


Department of Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning

Tuesday 23 May 2017

James Cook University’s Matteo Sandona has taken out the prestigious Minister’s Town Planning Prize, ahead of university winners from six other institutions, for his study on how to change current attitudes to public transport in Townsville.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Planning Jackie Trad applauded all the university winners from JCU, Bond, Griffith, QUT, UQ, USQ and USC at a ceremony at Parliament House.

"The level of research across the board has been of particularly high quality and I congratulate Matteo for his important work on changing community attitudes and behaviour towards public transport in Townsville," Ms Trad said.

"This year we have seen a wonderful diversity of entries, from providing better planning solutions in areas of public transport, health and the environment, to concepts around the knowledge economy.

"These are the minds which will help shape wonderful places for people to live, work and raise their families over the coming years.

"Their very unique and different ideas have the potential to create stronger, safer, healthier and well connected communities now and for future generations of Queenslanders."

The winners of the Minister’s Town Planning Prizes:

  • Matteo Sandona, James Cook University, Overall winner
  • Shad Mayne, Bond University, University winner
  • Gabriella Singh, Griffith University, University winner
  • Elizabeth Entriken, Qld University of Technology, University winner
  • Michael O’Connor, University of Queensland, University winner
  • Tari Zador, University of Southern Qld, University winner
  • Joshua Pratt, University of the Sunshine Coast, University winner.

The Deputy Premier also launched the Planning Institute of Australia’s 2017 State Awards for Planning Excellence with the winners to be announced in November.

The Minister’s Town Planning Prize is awarded to the best thesis or major final year research study which has the potential to contribute significantly to the advancement of regional or town planning techniques. It is recognition for innovative, practical approaches to real problems.

The awards recognise excellence and showcase leading practice across a range of planning disciplines and sectors.

Media Contact:

Last updated: Monday, Nov 30, 2020